Pablo De La Rosa is a freelance journalist, reporting statewide for Texas Public Radio and nationally for NPR.

Rio Grande Valley voter’s guide: The race for new mayors in Pharr and Brownsville is on–here’s how to vote

Candidates for mayor of Brownsville
Candidates for mayor of Brownsville. Top row: Jessica Tetreau and John Cowen Bottom row: Erasmo Castro and Jessica Stanton

Texas Public Radio’s RGV Voter Guide

On Saturday, May 6 both Brownsville and Pharr will be electing new mayors. There’s also the contested race for McAllen Commission District 4, which consists of Southwest McAllen and includes McAllen International Airport.

My colleagues at Texas Public Radio Carolina Cuellar and Gaige Davila have put together a quick voter’s guide for folks in the Rio Grande Valley that includes voting by mail information, a link to voting locations, sample ballots, and a summary of the races.

You can read the guide on the Texas Public radio website here: Where, when and how to vote in the May election in the Rio Grande Valley


Pablo De La Rosa reports on immigration, border communities, preserving democracy, and Latin America for Texas Public Radio and NPR from the Texas-Mexico border, where he grew up. He’s the host of the daily Spanish newscast TPR Noticias Al Día and a regular contributor at The Border Chronicle.

Follow and subscribe